A pesticide-free, self-serve roadside farm stand (September 13-October 31) offering u-pick pumpkins and a farm market with fresh eggs — transparent values and extended hours, but 2026 pricing is not published.
That Pickin Patch is a pesticide-free u-pick operation with a farm market selling fresh eggs, positioned as a health-conscious alternative to conventional pumpkin farms. The self-serve dawn-to-dusk model and September 13 to October 31 window offer flexible, extended access.
Most pumpkin patches do not emphasize or certify farming practices. That Pickin Patch leads with “no pesticides,” a transparency-focused value proposition that appeals to health-conscious families and those supporting sustainable agriculture. This is a genuinely different positioning from the standard operation. Whether the claim is independently certified or third-party verified is not stated, so asking about documentation or practices is reasonable.
The farm market with fresh eggs adds utility beyond pumpkins. Farm-fresh eggs are typically cheaper than grocery-store prices and are a useful add-on if you are already there. Other farm-market items (jams, produce) may be available; call to ask what is in stock.
Self-serve dawn-to-dusk eliminates traditional farm-stand time gates. Show up whenever daylight permits, pick pumpkins, and go. That flexibility is valuable for families with unpredictable schedules or kids’ needs.
Humboldt is in Minnehaha County, southeastern South Dakota, part of the Sioux Falls exurban belt. The area is flat agricultural plains. The farm is a roadside stand, not a destination venue with major facilities.
The “no pesticides” claim is stated in the source material but lacks published certification, third-party verification, or detailed documentation. If you have strong convictions about organic or pesticide-free farming, ask the farm directly about:
Also confirm 2026 pricing: call (605) 351-6736 to ask for u-pick rates and farm-market pricing before traveling.
Thirty to sixty minutes for picking, plus time browsing the farm market if interested. Morning visits (8-10am) are cooler and quieter. October is peak pumpkin season. Weekday visits avoid weekend crowds.
Bring closed shoes for muddy fields, containers for pumpkins, layers for temperature swings, and cash. The self-serve model means no staff may be present; plan to be self-sufficient for transactions.
September 13 to October 31, 2026, dawn-to-dusk daily. Morning visits (8-10am) are cooler and quieter. October is peak pumpkin season. Weekday visits avoid weekend crowds.
Thirty to sixty minutes depending on how many pumpkins you want to pick and whether you browse the farm market.
Self-serve dawn-to-dusk spreads visitors across each day. Weekday mornings are probably quietest; October weekends likely busiest.
Not specified. Assume roadside or field parking typical of a farm stand.
Self-serve u-pick requires bending and field walking. Accessibility is not published; contact the farm about alternatives.
You need confirmed 2026 pricing or farming-method verification before visiting. Also skip if you prefer conventional farming — the pesticide-free positioning is core to this operation.
Humboldt is in Minnehaha County, southeastern SD, part of the Sioux Falls exurban area. Combine with other area pumpkin venues or a Sioux Falls day trip.
The farm's source listing states 'no pesticides,' but independent certification or verification is not mentioned. Call (605) 351-6736 if you want details on farming practices, certifications, or crop rotation.
Not published. Most u-pick operations charge by weight or flat fee. Call (605) 351-6736 to ask for 2026 rates.
Yes, a farm market with fresh eggs is available. Pricing for eggs is not stated; confirm with the farm.
September 13 to October 31, dawn-to-dusk. Exact closing date (Oct 31 or sooner) should be confirmed.
September 13 – October 31, 2026. Self-serve all week. Hours: Dawn to dusk.
Admission pricing was not published when we last checked.
26711 455th Avenue, Humboldt, SD 57035, in Minnehaha County. It is one of 18 patches we track in South Dakota.
We track 18 patches in South Dakota, 1 of which are free to walk into. The farm has not published a gate price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
Its season runs about 49 days against a regional average of 47, so it is broadly in line with the rest of the region.
What sets it apart locally: it has a market, bakery or taproom, which most South Dakota patches on our list do not.
There are 3 other patches we track in Minnehaha County. All South Dakota patches →
pumpkinpatchesandmore.org
Checked August 2026.