A two-day apple butter festival with pony rides, a corn maze and a cider mill — one weekend only, no published admission price, and no stated rain date.
Admission is not specified on the festival page. Individual ride and activity costs are not published either.
Everything about planning this one comes back to the same fact: it is two days. Saturday October 3 and Sunday October 4, 10am to 6pm, and then the festival is over for the year.
That compression has consequences. It means the ride queues will be longer than the attraction list suggests, because a whole season’s worth of interest lands in twenty hours. It means weather is a binary risk rather than a scheduling inconvenience — the page we read mentions no rain date, so a washed-out weekend is a washed-out year. And it means the arrival time is the only meaningful choice you have.
Worth separating the two. MacQueen is a working Lucas County orchard with pick-your-own apples and pumpkins, a cider mill and a farm market, running for far longer than a weekend. The apple butter festival is a two-day event layered on top, adding pony rides, a barrel train, a petting zoo, inflatables, a corn maze and live music.
If what you want is a family day out with rides and music, the festival weekend is the only time to get it. If what you want is apples, a cider mill and a quiet walk through the rows, almost any other autumn day will be better — cheaper, calmer and with the same fruit. We could not establish the orchard’s wider season dates, so that version of the visit needs a phone call.
It is worth knowing what the event is named after. Apple butter is a slow-cooked orchard product, and a festival built around it is a northern harvest tradition rather than a marketing theme — the cider mill on site is the same idea. This is what fall looks like in a state that actually grows the fruit, and the pumpkins and corn maze here are the supporting act rather than the headline.
That framing helps set expectations for anyone arriving with a pumpkin-patch mental image. The pumpkin field is real and you can pick from it, but the orchard is the business.
Admission is not published. Neither are the ride costs. For an event with pony rides, a barrel train and inflatables — all things children ask for individually — that is a real gap, because the difference between an all-in gate fee and a pay-per-ride midway is the difference between a $40 day and a $90 one.
Ask at the gate before the group disperses, and settle the ride budget with the children before anyone sees the inflatables. That advice applies at any festival; it applies more when the numbers are unknown going in.
The festival is Saturday October 3 and Sunday October 4, 2026, 10am to 6pm. That is the entire event. There is no quiet day and no second chance, so the only variable you control is the hour: arrive at 10 if you want the pony rides and the children's rides before the queues build, or come after 4pm for the last two hours when the day crowd is thinning. Note that this orchard's wider pick-your-own season runs well beyond that weekend — its dates were not published anywhere we read, but if you want apples and pumpkins without a festival around them, a call about the regular season is the better move.
Two to three hours. Between pick-your-own, the corn maze, the barrel train, the pony rides, the petting zoo, the inflatables and the live music there is a solid half-day, but a two-day festival is not designed for a lingering visit.
Two days, ten to six, at a well-known orchard in the Toledo catchment. This will be the orchard's busiest weekend of the year by some margin, and the ride queues are where it will show.
Not published. Assume orchard field parking, and assume a wet Saturday makes it soft — early October in northwest Ohio is reliably damp.
You want a calm weekday orchard visit. This listing covers one weekend of the busiest kind of day the orchard runs all year. Skip it too if you need to know what it costs — admission is not published, and neither are the individual ride prices.
Saturday October 3 and Sunday October 4, 2026, from 10am to 6pm. Those two days are the whole event.
Admission is not specified on the festival page, and individual ride and activity costs are not published either. This is the main gap in the listing.
The orchard runs a wider pick-your-own season, but we could not establish its dates. If you want the fruit without the festival, call and ask what is picking.
October 3 – October 4, 2026. Saturday and Sunday - October 3 and 4, 2026. Hours: 10:00am-6:00pm.
Admission pricing was not published when we last checked. Admission is not specified on the festival page. Individual ride and activity costs are not published either.
7605 Garden Road, Holland, OH 43528, in Lucas County. It is one of 7 patches we track in Northwest Ohio.
We track 7 patches in Northwest Ohio. The farm has not published a gate price, so it cannot be compared on cost — call before you budget.
Its season runs about 2 days against a regional average of 37, so it is a shorter window than most of its neighbours — miss it and the nearest alternatives will still be open.
What sets it apart locally: it has a market, bakery or taproom, which most Northwest Ohio patches on our list do not.
There is 1 other patch we track in Lucas County. All Northwest Ohio patches →
Map pin is set to the town centre. Navigate to the street address above, not the pin.
macqueenorchards.com
Checked August 2026.