A dual-season operation (Christmas trees in winter, pumpkins in fall) with free admission and a haunted trail — an exceptional value option, though 2026 exact dates are not yet confirmed.
Free admission
Free to walk in. Your spend here is whatever you choose — pumpkins, food, and any paid activities. That makes it a low-risk stop if you are not sure how long the kids will last.
Rivertree is a year-round Christmas tree farm that operates a seasonal pumpkin patch in fall with free admission — an exceptional value among the venues in this dataset. The operation distinguishes itself with multiple pumpkin varieties and a haunted trail in addition to the standard u-pick experience.
Free admission is rare among active pumpkin patches. The gate-free model removes a major cost barrier and means you can visit without knowing in advance what you will spend (beyond the pumpkins themselves). This is a genuine advantage for budget-conscious families or anyone averse to admission gates.
The farm lists multiple pumpkin varieties beyond the standard orange field pumpkins. That opens options for families seeking decorative, smaller, or heirloom varieties — often at lower prices than a single standard size. Call (605) 743-0521 to ask what varieties are in stock on your intended visit date.
The farm includes a haunted trail as a fall attraction. Whether it is family-friendly, intense, or best for older kids is not specified. This is worth asking about before you visit, especially if you have young children for whom a haunted experience might be scary rather than fun.
Rivertree is a working Christmas tree farm year-round, with the pumpkin patch as a fall seasonal offering. This dual-season model suggests a professional operation and better-maintained facilities than some roadside stands. It also means the farm has year-round farm expertise, likely reflecting in the quality and variety of the fall operation.
Canton is in Lincoln County, southeastern South Dakota, about 30 miles northwest of Sioux Falls. The area is flat agricultural plains. Within the Canton region, you also have Pumpkins 4 College (a self-serve u-pick roadside stand) and nearby farms in Harrisburg (Country Apple Orchard, Heartland Country Corn Maze). This concentration makes the area a multi-venue destination if you want to stack fall activities in one region.
Two to three hours for pumpkin picking, exploring varieties, and doing the haunted trail. The free admission and weekend-only schedule (10am-6pm, Sat-Sun) mean you can show up anytime on a weekend without pre-booking. October will be busier than late September, especially on Saturdays.
Bring closed shoes for field walking, layers for temperature swings, and expect to pay for the pumpkins you pick (likely by weight or flat fee, to be confirmed for 2026). Call (605) 743-0521 to confirm exact 2026 dates before traveling — the standard window is the last weekend of September through mid-October, but exact start/end dates shift year to year.
Historically operates the last weekend of September through mid-October, Saturday-Sunday 10am-6pm. Exact 2026 dates are not published, but the September-to-October window is standard. October weekends will be busier than late September.
Two to three hours for pumpkin picking, the haunted trail, and exploring multiple pumpkin varieties.
Weekends-only, limited season (3-4 weeks). October weekends will draw families. Free admission likely drives higher traffic than paid venues.
Not specified. Assume field parking adjacent to the tree farm and pumpkin area.
Not published. Contact (605) 743-0521 about accessible routes to the pumpkin area and haunted trail.
You need confirmed 2026 dates and hours before traveling; neither is published online. Also skip if the haunted trail is not your style — it is a prominent feature and may not be suitable for very small kids.
Pumpkins 4 College (also in Canton, u-pick roadside stand), Country Apple Orchard and Heartland Country Corn Maze (Harrisburg, about 10 miles east). Stack multiple venues for a half-day region tour.
Yes, according to the source data. Free admission is confirmed. The only cost is paying for the pumpkins you pick (likely by weight or flat fee, not yet confirmed for 2026).
Not described in detail. Contact (605) 743-0521 to ask whether it is intense, family-friendly, or best for older kids. Timing and availability during the season are also worth confirming.
Multiple pumpkin varieties are listed, but specific names are not published. Call (605) 743-0521 or visit the farm to see what is in stock on your visit date.
Historically the last weekend of September through mid-October, but 2026 exact dates are not published. Call (605) 743-0521 in late August to confirm.
2026 dates had not been published when we last checked. In past seasons it has run: Sat-Sun. Check with the farm before driving out.
Admission is free. Free admission
48392 278th Street, Canton, SD 57013, in Lincoln County. It is one of 18 patches we track in South Dakota.
We track 18 patches in South Dakota, 1 of which are free to walk into. Entry here costs nothing, which puts it in the minority even in a region with several free options.
What sets it apart locally: it has an after-dark attraction, which most South Dakota patches on our list do not.
One caveat worth repeating: this farm had not published its 2026 dates when we last checked, while 6 of the 18 patches we track in South Dakota had. Treat any date you see elsewhere as last year's until the farm confirms it.
There are 3 other patches we track in Lincoln County. All South Dakota patches →
pumpkinpatchesandmore.org
Checked August 2026.